Actions > SURGICAL TREATMENT

The goal of the Collective is to offer treatment in Monaco to children whose heart disorders are inoperable in their countries of origin. Treatment is also available for certain orthopaedic disorders.

The project has the support of Monegasque hospitals and medical centres:

  • The Monaco Cardio-Thoracic Center (CCM)
  • The Princess Grace Hospital (CHPG)
  • The Monegasque Institute of Sports Medicine and Surgery (IM2S)

all of which make their best specialists available at no charge and cover part of the hospitalisation costs.

 

The children’s journey

  • Identifying a sick child

A doctor from the country of origin identifies a child whose heart or orthopaedic disease cannot be treated in his/her own country and sends the file to MCH.

  • Transferring the child

Once the medical file has been approved, MCH initiates the administrative formalities concerning the child’s travel arrangements by air with an escort from Aviation sans Frontières (ASF). Upon arrival at Nice airport, the child is welcomed by a host family who take care of him/her on a benevolent basis throughout his/her stay.

  • Surgical procedure

Depending on the pathology, the child stays at the health centre between 5 and 10 days, or more, monitored and pampered by the medical staff and host family.

  • Convalescence at the host family’s home

The host family stays in contact with the biological family. Once the discharge visit has taken place, the return trip is near.

  • Return home

An ASF escort accompanies the child on the flight home and hands him/her over to his/her family upon arrival at the airport. Regular monitoring with a local GP is requested

 

 

Positive results for Monaco Collectif Humanitaire

 

Monaco Collectif Humanitaire au secours des enfants malades

 

 

Testimonials

Roberta, 15 year-old, Cameroun

“My name is Roberta. I am fifteen years old and come from Cameroon. I came to France and Monaco to undergo heart surgery. I am writing this note to tell you that I am currently well and to express my gratitude. I really don’t know how to thank all the people who helped me get better.

When I arrived, I wasn’t afraid of the treatment but of the people I was going to meet. I was wondering who my host family would be, how I was going to manage without my own family. I said to myself “Go on and everything will be fine”. As soon as I arrived, I was pleasantly surprised by the way in which everyone welcomed and treated me throughout my stay. This experience taught me many things. After the operation, my parents phoned me and asked me if I felt a difference. I shouted out “And how!” – it was a moment of great joy. I really don’t know how to express my thanks, the only thing I can say is thank you, thank you from my family and friends too, thank you to my host family, to the staff at the Cardio Thoracic Centre in Monaco and everyone I met. I hope that one day we will meet again because it is a small world”.

 

Témoignages en vidéos 

2008

année de création

24

associations

320

enfants opérés

100 %

des dons alloués en faveur des enfants

100 %

des médecins opèrent bénévolement

10 000 €

coût moyen de prise en charge d’un enfant

Actions > Accueil chirurgical

L’objectif du Collectif est de prendre en charge à Monaco des enfants dont les pathologies cardiaques ne sont pas opérables dans leur pays d’origine. Certaines pathologies orthopédiques peuvent également faire l’objet d’une prise en charge.

Le projet bénéficie du soutien des centres hospitaliers monégasques :

  • le Centre Cardio-Thoracique de Monaco (CCM)
  • le Centre Hospitalier Princesse Grace (CHPG)
  •  l’Institut Monégasque de Médecine & Chirurgie Sportive (IM2S)

qui mettent à disposition leurs meilleurs spécialistes, à titre gracieux, et supportent une partie des coûts d’hospitalisation.

 

Le parcours des enfants 

  • Identification des enfants malades

Un médecin du pays d’origine identifie un enfant dont la pathologie cardiaque ou orthopédique ne peut être soignée dans son pays et adresse le dossier au MCH .

  • Transfert des enfants

Une fois le dossier médical validé, le MCH engage les formalités administratives pour faire venir l’enfant et son transfert en avion avec un convoyeur d’Aviation sans Frontières (ASF). Arrivé à l’aéroport de Nice, l’enfant est accueilli par une famille d’accueil qui prendra soin de lui, à titre bénévole, toute la durée de son séjour.

  • Intervention chirurgicale

Selon la pathologie, l’enfant reste 5 à 10 jours au centre de soins, voire plus, veillé et choyé par le personnel soignant et sa famille d’accueil.

  • Convalescence dans la famille d’accueil

La famille d’accueil reste en contact avec la famille biologique. Une fois la visite de sortie effectuée, le voyage de retour est proche.

  • Retour dans le pays

Un convoyeur d’ASF effectue le vol retour avec l’enfant et le remet à sa famille à son arrivée à l’aéroport. Un suivi régulier avec le médecin traitant local est demandé.

 

Bilan positif pour Monaco Collectif Humanitaire

 

Monaco Collectif Humanitaire au secours des enfants malades

 

 

Témoignages

Roberta, 15 ans, Cameroun

« Mon nom est Roberta, j’ai 15 ans et je suis originaire du Cameroun. Je suis venue en France et à Monaco pour subir une opération cardiaque. J’écris ce mot pour vous dire qu’à présent je vais bien et pour vous faire part de ma gratitude. Je ne sais pas vraiment comment remercier tous ceux qui ont contribué à ma guérison.

Quand je suis arrivée, je n’avais pas peur du traitement mais des gens que j’allais rencontrer. Je me posais beaucoup de questions sur qui serait ma famille d’accueil, comment j’allais faire sans ma propre famille. Je me suis dit «vas y et tout ira bien». Dès que je suis arrivée, j’ai été agréablement surprise par la façon dont les gens m’ont accueillie et traitée tout au long du séjour. Cette expérience m’a appris beaucoup de choses. Après l’opération, mes parents m’ont appelée et demandé si je sentais une différence, je leur ai crié que oui, ça a été un moment de grande joie. Je ne sais pas vraiment comment remercier, la seule chose que je peux dire c’est merci, merci également de la part de ma famille et de mes amis, merci à ma famille d’accueil, au personnel du Centre Cardio-Thoracique de Monaco et à toutes les personnes que j’ai rencontrées. J’espère qu’un jour nous nous reverrons parce que le monde est petit.»

 

Témoignages en vidéos 

2008

année de création

24

associations

320

enfants opérés

100 %

des dons alloués en faveur des enfants

100 %

des médecins opèrent bénévolement

10 000 €

coût moyen de prise en charge d’un enfant