Host families

Role of a host family

Care provided by a host family consists of three key phases: First of all the family welcomes the child, helps him/her to adapt and prepares him/her for the surgical procedure accompanying him/her to pre-operative consultations. During his/her hospitalisation, the family is there with the child on a daily basis. This is followed by a convalescence period with a few check-up visits and preparation for the return home.

Host families are permanently in touch with the children’s families in the country of origin and the health centre in charge of the child.

The duration of the child’s stay varies depending on each case, from 3 days to two months, or even more in the event of complications.

 

How to become a host family

You are a family, with or without children, or a single person.
You have time, availability and a lot of love to give…

Two entities are responsible for welcoming the children

  • The Association Rencontres Africaines – make an online application
  • The Monegasque Red Cross – download the brochure (available soon)

 

How to describe a host family

They are young… or not so young, they have children… or no children, they live in a house… or an apartment… it doesn’t really matter. But they are available, affectionate and loving. In practical terms, they meet the child at the airport and until the latter’s departure look after him/her as if he/she were their own: the child is welcomed into their home, is part of their life, is kept amused, taken to consultations, to the hospital, paid visits during hospitalisation, given support when suffering, consoled when feeling down, and encouraged when learning how to live in a different way. In brief, they provide the affection and love the child is deprived of due to the distance from his/her own family. When the child leaves, recovered, the host family are sad yet happy. They have been through an unforgettable experience.

Testimonials

Stéphanie Boye, host family for “Petit Ibou”

petitiboutFor a very long time my husband and I had wanted to do something “more” enriching, an exchange, give love and support to those who needed it so much.
I found the association Rencontres Africaines on the internet and attended their monthly meeting.
“And there you are 9 months later, on 1st July 2014 you finally arrived, Petit Ibou, as your mum calls you, tired but we are all there to help you get through this new phase of your life.
Little man, coming from another continent, you don’t know us. We don’t know you either.
The 1st day not a word, not a tear, in your eyes sadness mixes with hope, courage and strength.
I won’t deny it – as a mum it was difficult.
But the next day, the beginnings of a smile…
We get to know each other day after day, but it’s already time for you to leave for the hospital for a few days.
As a mum, a dad, a grandma we give you all our support at this important time in your life.
All the team from the cardiology centre are there too and welcome you with open arms, like a star.
The best surgeons are there for you.
The next day is THE day.
The hours go by and you are at last freed from this respiratory distress that has never left you since you were born. Finally you will be able to play, run, have fun, simply be a child.
After a few days of observation and pampering at the cardiology centre we go home.
Your mum does not believe me, petit Ibou, when I tell her that you are running, playing…
And yet it is real, you are better and we are all proud of you little chap.
After 3 weeks of unforgettable moments and joy, your departure draws near. We are all preparing ourselves for this day which undoubtedly will be difficult.
But what a joy to know that you are going to see your mum, dad and sisters again.
What a joy to know that we took part in what you are today.”

Once again I would like to thank my children, my husband, my mum, Rencontres Africaines, the Cardiology Centre and the associations which are part of this wonderful adventure.

 

Christiane, host family for Tawfiq, 1, from Burkina Faso, member of Rencontres Africaines.

tawfiq

“I was somewhat emotional as I waited for Tawfiq to arrive at the airport. A very beautiful baby disembarked in the arms of a smiling escort, but he didn’t smile. I had to wait 2 days to see the beginnings of a smile. Every day, I was surprised to see this child’s capacity to adapt and to understand, his concentration while playing and also his high-pitched and persistent cry to make me understand what he wanted. Today I can say that his persistence and determination most probably helped him to live.

At the hospital, after his operation, he also managed to impose his wishes on the nurses.

When I went to fetch him to bring him home, he was gorgeous, all smiles and holding his arms wide open. It has been a wonderful experience and wonderful adventure for him and for me. The house will be empty without him.”

 

Philibert, Don Noël’s dad, 10 months old when he had his first operation

donnoel“At the end of 2008, when we found out that our son was suffering from a serious heart disease, it was impossible for us to send him abroad. Finally this was made possible thanks to Monaco Collectif Humanitaire.

The operation was a success. Without this help, he would undoubtedly have died. In March 2011 our child had to be given treatment a second time. He left for Monaco again where he underwent a new surgical procedure. We are extremely happy because he came back in perfect health, he plays normally and has even been going to school since the beginning of the new school year. My family would like to thank all the people involved and the hospital staff most sincerely because they have saved our child. I can but hope that they continue to save other lives because Burundi, and many other African countries, do not have the means for treating certain diseases.”

 

Marie Rose, Don Noël’s mum

“It was difficult to see our child leave for Monaco without accompanying him but we kept up hope because we knew that he was in good hands. The host family consoled us and we monitored the situation every day. I cannot begin to explain the pain of parents seeing their child suffer without being able to help him. I can’t find the words to express what I feel, to express my thanks once again to all the people who were involved. Many other African countries do not have the resources for treating certain diseases.”

2008

année de création

24

associations

320

enfants opérés

100 %

des dons alloués en faveur des enfants

100 %

des médecins opèrent bénévolement

10 000 €

coût moyen de prise en charge d’un enfant

Familles d’accueil

Rôle d’une famille d’accueil

La prise en charge par la famille d’accueil s’articule autour de trois temps forts. Tout d’abord la famille reçoit l’enfant, facilite son adaptation et le prépare à l’opération en l’accompagnant notamment aux visites préopératoires. Pendant son hospitalisation, la famille est présente quotidiennement auprès de l’enfant. Vient ensuite le temps de la convalescence avec quelques visites de contrôle et la préparation au retour.

Les familles d’accueil sont en lien permanent avec les familles des enfants restées dans le pays d’origine et le centre de soins qui prend en charge l’enfant.

La durée des séjours des enfants varie selon les cas de 3 jours à deux mois, voire plus en cas de complications.

 

Devenir famille d’accueil

Vous êtes une famille, avec ou sans enfants, ou une personne seule.
Vous disposez de temps, de disponibilité et vous avez beaucoup d’amour à donner…

Deux structures sont en charge de l’accueil des enfants  

 

Comment décrire une famille d’accueil ?

Elle est jeune… ou moins jeune, elle a des enfants… ou elle n’en a pas, elle habite une résidence… ou un appartement… Peu importe. Mais elle est disponible, affectueuse, aimante. Concrètement, elle attend l’enfant à l’aéroport et – jusqu’au départ de celui-ci – elle s’occupe de lui comme s’il était le sien : elle le reçoit dans son foyer, l’intègre à sa vie, le distrait, le conduit aux consultations, l’accompagne à l’hôpital, lui rend visite pendant son séjour, le soutient lorsqu’il souffre, le console lorsqu’il est triste, puis l’encourage lorsqu’il apprend à vivre différemment. En bref, elle lui procure l’affection et l’amour dont le prive l’éloignement de sa propre famille. Lorsque l’enfant repart, guéri, la famille d’accueil est triste, mais heureuse. Elle a vécu une aventure inoubliable.

 

 Lettre d’une petite fille à sa famille d’accueil
 2017-08-22 10_58_33-Lettre de Néné.pdf - Adobe Reader

 

Témoignages

Stéphanie Boye, famille d’accueil de « Petit Ibou »

petitiboutDepuis très longtemps déjà avec mon mari nous avions dans l’idée de faire quelque chose de « plus », d’enrichissant, un échange, apporter de l’amour et de l’aide à des personnes qui en ont tant besoin.
J’ai trouvé l’association Rencontres Africaines sur internet et je me suis rendue à leur réunion mensuelle.
« Et voilà 9 mois plus tard, le 1er Juillet 2014 tu arrives enfin, petit Ibou comme t’appelle ta maman, fatigué mais nous sommes tous là pour t’aider à surmonter cette nouvelle étape de ta vie.
Petit homme, venant d’un autre continent, tu ne nous connais pas.
Nous ne te connaissons pas non plus.
Le 1er jour pas un mot, pas une larme, dans tes yeux la tristesse se mêle avec l’espoir le courage et la force.
Je ne te cache pas qu’en tant que maman cela a été difficile.
Mais le lendemain, l’esquisse d’un sourire…
Nous apprenons à nous connaître jour après jour, mais voilà que déjà tu dois partir à l’hôpital pour quelques jours.
Comme une maman, un papa, une mamie nous t’accompagnons dans ce moment important de ta vie.
Toute l’équipe du centre cardiologique est là, elle aussi, et t’accueille à bras ouverts, comme une star.
Les meilleurs chirurgiens sont là pour toi.
Le lendemain, c’est le jour J.
Les heures passent et enfin tu es libéré de cette détresse respiratoire qui depuis ta naissance ne t’a jamais quitté. Enfin tu vas pouvoir jouer, courir, t’amuser, être un enfant tout simplement.
Après quelques jours d’observations et de cocooning au centre cardiologique nous rentrons à la maison.
Ta maman ne me croit pas, petit Ibou, quand je lui dis que tu cours, que tu joues…
Et pourtant cela est réel, tu es guéri et nous sommes tous fiers de toi petit bonhomme.
Après 3 semaines de moments inoubliables et de joie, le départ est proche. Nous nous préparons tous à ce départ qui va être sans doute difficile.
Mais quelle joie de savoir que tu vas retrouver ta maman, ton papa et tes sœurs.
Quelle joie de savoir que nous avons tous participé à ce que tu es aujourd’hui. »
Merci encore à mes enfants, mon mari, ma maman, Rencontres Africaines, au centre cardiologique et aux associations qui ont fait partie de cette belle aventure.

 

Christiane, famille d’accueil de Tawfiq, 1 an, originaire du Burkina Faso, membre de Rencontres Africaines

tawfiq« C’est un peu émue que j’attendais l’arrivée de Tawfiq à l’aéroport. C’est un très beau bébé qui a débarqué dans les bras d’une convoyeuse souriante, mais lui ne souriait pas. Il m’a fallu 2 jours pour avoir des ébauches de sourire. Tous les jours, j’ai été surprise de voir la capacité d’adaptation et de compréhension de cet enfant, sa concentration en jouant et aussi ses cris aigus et tenaces pour me faire comprendre ce qu’il voulait. Aujourd’hui je peux dire que cette ténacité et cette volonté l’ont certainement aidé à vivre.

A l’hôpital, après son opération, il a aussi réussi à imposer sa volonté aux infirmières.

Quand je suis allée le chercher pour rentrer à la maison, je l’ai trouvé tout beau et tout souriant me tendant les bras. C’est une très belle expérience et une très belle aventure pour lui et pour moi. La maison va être bien vide sans lui. »

 

Philibert, papa de Don Noël, 10 mois lors de sa première opération

donnoel« Fin 2008, quand nous avons appris que notre fils souffrait d’une pathologie cardiaque grave, il nous était impossible de l’envoyer à l’étranger. Finalement, ça a été possible grâce à Monaco Collectif Humanitaire.

L’opération a été une réussite. Sans cette aide, il serait sans doute mort. En mars 2011, notre enfant a dû être pris en charge une seconde fois. Il est reparti à Monaco où il a subi une nouvelle intervention. Nous sommes extrêmement heureux parce qu’il est revenu en parfaite santé, il joue normalement et va même à l’école depuis la rentrée… Ma famille remercie vraiment toutes les personnes mobilisées et le personnel hospitalier parce qu’ils ont sauvé notre enfant. Je ne peux que souhaiter qu’ils continuent à sauver d’autres vies car le Burundi, et beaucoup d’autres pays africains, n’ont pas les moyens de soigner certaines maladies. »

 

Marie-Rose, maman de Don Noël

« C’était difficile de voir notre enfant partir à Monaco sans l’accompagner mais nous avons gardé l’espoir parce que nous savions qu’il était bien encadré. La famille d’accueil nous consolait et on suivait tous les jours la situation. Je ne vois pas comment expliquer la douleur de parents voyant leur enfant souffrir sans pouvoir l’aider. Je ne trouve vraiment pas de mots pour m’exprimer, pour dire encore merci à toutes les personnes qui se sont mobilisées. » beaucoup d’autres pays africains, n’ont pas les moyens de soigner certaines maladies. »

2008

année de création

340

enfants opérés

100 %

des dons alloués en faveur des enfants

100 %

des médecins opèrent bénévolement

100%

des familles et structures d'accueil sont bénévoles

50%

des coûts d'hospitalisation facturés par les centres de soins

10 000 €

coût moyen de prise en charge d’un enfant